# The Midsouth Political Science Review Volume 17, 2016

Institutional Innovativeness in Southern State Governments, 1960-2010 David S. Castle	1
Anti-Immigrant Voting in the Global South: A Curvilinear Approach in Costa Rica Jeffrey J. Ryan	27
2012 Presidential Campaign and Social Media: A Functional Analysis of Candidates' Facebook Public Pages Ivy Shen and William L. Benoit	53
The Evolution of Judicial Selection in Arkansas: External and Internal Explanations of Change and Potential Future Directions Mark Nabors and J.R. Baxter	83

### About the Contributors

- **J.R. Baxter** is currently in his third year of law school at the University of Arkansas School Of Law. *He* earned his Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.
- William L. Benoit is a Professor of Communication Studies at Ohio University. He developed the Functional Theory of Political Campaign Discourse. He has published several articles and books on this topic. Recent books include *Praeger Handbook of Political Campaigning in America* (Praeger 2016), A Functional Analysis of Presidential Television Advertisements (Lexington 2014), and Political Election Debates: Informing Voters about Policy and Character (Lexington 2014).
- **David S. Castle** is a Professor of Political Science at Lamar University. His current research focuses on state legislatures and southern politics. His previously published work has appeared in *American Politics Quarterly, American Review of Politics, Judicature, Midsouth Political Science Review, Public Personnel Management,* and *The American Review of Public Administration,* among other journals. He received the Ph.D. from the University of Rochester in 1985.
- **Mark Nabors** is currently a seminarian at the School of Theology at the University of the South in Sewanee, Tennessee. He earned a Master in Public Administration and Nonprofit Studies and a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and French from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.
- Jeffrey J. Ryan is an Associate Professor of Political Science and Latin American/Latino Studies at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. His current research is focused on the impact of organized crime violence on local-level political participation in Mexico. He has presented research at numerous national and international conferences, including invited presentations in Cuba, Venezuela, Ecuador and Argentina. His work has been published in *Comparative Politics, Party Politics, Public Administration Review, Latin American Policy,* and *PS: Political Science & Politics,* among other journals. He received his Ph.D. from Rice University.
  - Ivy Shen is a PhD candidate in the Department of Political Science at the University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma.

#### The Midsouth Political Science Review Editorial Board

*Editor:* Joseph Y. Howard Department of Political Science University of Central Arkansas Conway, AR 72035

#### Associate Editors: Mary Beth Sullivan University of Central Arkansas

John Passé-Smith University of Central Arkansas

T. Clay Arnold	Donald Gooch	Doug Reed
University of Central Arkansas	Stephen F. Austin State Univ.	Ouachita Baptist University
Paul Babbitt	Kim Hoffman	Catherine Reese
Southern Arkansas University	University of Central Arkansas	Arkansas State University
Jay Barth	Christina Hughes	Gary Ritter
Hendrix College	Univ. of Houston-Downtown	University of Arkansas
David Branham	Meagan Jordan	Michael Pagers
Univ. of Houston-Downtown	0.	Michael Rogers
Univ. of Houston-Downtown	Old Dominion University	Arkansas Tech University
Kevin Brennan	Brinck Kerr	James Scott
Ouachita Baptist University	University of Arkansas	Texas Christian University
Ouachita baptist Oniversity	University of Arkansas	Texas Chiristian Oniversity
Daniel Chand	Kiril Kolev	William Shreckhise
Kent State University	Hendrix College	University of Arkansas
Kent State Oniversity	Hendrix College	Oniversity of Arkansas
Price Dooley	Jacek Lubecki	Tucker Staley
Univ. of Illinois-Springfield	Georgia Southern University	University of Central Arkansas
erint of million opringheid	ecologia condition charteroldy	
Andrew Dowdle	Heather Mbaye	Joshua Stockley
University of Arkansas	University of West Georgia	Univ. of Louisiana at Monroe
Andrew Drummond	Tom McInnis	Carol Strong
Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock	University of Central Arkansas	Univ. of Arkansas at Monticello
	2	
Jocelyn Evans	Mark Mullenbach	Bill Topich
University of West Florida	University of Central Arkansas	Pulaski Academy
Joseph Giammo	Keith Nitta	Gary Wekkin
Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock	Univ. of Washington Bothell	University of Central Arkansas
Rebecca Glazier	Janine Parry	Sharon Wrobel
Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock	University of Arkansas	University of Memphis
	Tara Parsons	

James Madison University

### Arkansas Political Science Association

Association Officers	
President	Kim Maslin
	Hendrix College
Vice President	Carol Strong
	UA-Monticello
Secretary Treasurer	Michael Rogers
	Arkansas State University
Past President	Steven Breezeel
	Harding University

### **Executive Board Members and Terms**

Eric Wiebelhaus-Brahm (UA-Little Rock)	2015-2017
Hans Hacker (Arkansas State)	2015-2017
Mary Beth Sullivan (UCA)	2016-2018
Karen Sebold (UA-Fayetteville)	2016-2018

Program Chair (2016): Christopher Housenick (Arkansas Tech)

## **Subscription Information:**

Subscription rates are \$30.00 for individuals and institutions. Subscriptions may be obtained by writing or e-mailing to:

Dr. Michael Rogers Arkansas Tech University Witherspoon Hall #257 407 West Q Street Russellville, Arkansas 72801 mrogers6@atu.edu