The Midsouth Political Science Review Volume 15, Number 2, 2014

When Compulsory Voting Isn't: Evidence from Mixed Electoral Systems Timothy S. Rich	1
Breaking the Banks: The Effect of State Campaign Finance Regulatory Environments and Regulatory Regimes on State Campaign Contributions and Spending Donald M. Gooch and Chapman Rackaway	
Empowering the Marginalized Voter: Clientelism in Heterogeneous Electorates Kiril Kolev and Mitchell Goist	59
The Natural State in a Time of Change: A Suvey-Based Analysis of State Party Organizations in Arkansas, 1999-2013 John C. Davis	81
Book Review How Governors Shaped the Presidency and Intergovernmental Relations Samuel Lucas McMillan	

The Midsouth Political Science Review (ISSN: 2330-6882 [print]; 2330-6890 [online]), is the official journal of the Arkansas Political Science Association. It is published and copyrighted by the Association.

2 | Sullivan

About the Contributors

- John C. Davis is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Political Science at the University of Missouri-Columbia. His research interests include political parties, state politics, and legislative behavior. He received his master's degree in Political Science from the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville in 2011.
- Mitchell Goist is a Ph.D. candidate in Political Science and African Studies at Pennsylvania State University. His research focuses on public goods provision in developing countries. Specifically, he is interested in the intersection of government favoritism and ethnic politics. He received his B.A. in International Relations from Hendrix College.
- **Donald M. Gooch** is an Assistant Professor of Political Science at Stephen F. Austin State University. He studies public law, the federal court system, and American politics. His research agenda includes political polarization, behavior of the Supreme Court, campaign finance regulation, civic education, formal theory, and the spatial theory of voting. He received his M.A. in Political Science from the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville in 2002 and his Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Missouri-Columbia in 2012.
- **Kiril Kolev** is an Assistant Professor of Politics and International Relations at Hendrix College. His research focuses on election quality in a comparative perspective. He is particularly interested in the interaction between ethno-cultural diversity, formal political institutions, socio-economic inequality, and electoral integrity. He received his Ph.D. in Comparative Politics from Duke University and a B.A. in Economics from Whittier College.
- Samuel Lucas McMillan is an Associate Professor of Political Science at Lander University. His research interests include American foreign policy, US state politics, federalism, international political economy, and European politics. He is author of *The Involvement of State Governments in U.S. Foreign Relations* (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012) as well as articles in *Foreign Policy Analysis, International Interactions*, and *International Studies Perspectives*. He is also the former president of the South Carolina Political Science Association.
- Chapman Rackaway is a Professor of Political Science at Fort Hays State University. He teaches in the Political Management concentration for students seeking to become political professionals. His research focuses on campaign processes: strategy, message, professionalism, social media, and paid media. He publishes monthly newspaper columns as part of the Insight Kansas consortium. He received his M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Missouri-Columbia.
- **Timothy S. Rich** is an Assistant Professor of Political Science at Western Kentucky University. His primary research focuses on electoral politics, with a regional focus on East Asia, while his secondary research focuses on North Korea politics. He has published in *Legislative Studies Quarterly, PS, Japanese Journal of Political Science, Representation, Korea Observer,* and *Issues &* Studies. He received his Ph.D. from Indiana University in 2012.

The Midsouth Political Science Review Editorial Board

Editor:

Joseph Y. Howard Department of Political Science University of Central Arkansas Conway, AR 72035

Associate Editors:

Kim Hoffman University of Central Arkansas John Passé-Smith University of Central Arkansas

T. Clay Arnold	Rebecca Glazier	Doug Reed
University of Central Arkansas	Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock	Ouachita Baptist University
Paul Babbitt	Donald Gooch	Catherine Reese
Southern Arkansas University	Stephen F. Austin State Univ.	Arkansas State University
Jay Barth	Christina Hughes	Gary Ritter
Hendrix College	Univ. of Houston-Downtown	University of Arkansas
David Branham	Meagan Jordan	Michael Rogers
Univ. of Houston-Downtown	Old Dominion University	Arkansas Tech University
Kevin Brennan	Brinck Kerr	James Scott
Ouachita Baptist University	University of Arkansas	Texas Christian University
David Brulé	Kiril Kolev	William Shreckhise
Purdue University	Hendrix College	University of Arkansas
Daniel Chand	Heather Mbaye	Joshua Stockley
New Mexico State University	University of West Georgia	Univ. of Louisiana at Monroe
Price Dooley	Tom McInnis	Carol Strong
Univ. of Illinois-Springfield	University of Central Arkansas	Univ. of Arkansas at Monticello
Andrew Dowdle	Mark Mullenbach	Mary Beth Sullivan
University of Arkansas	University of Central Arkansas	University of Central Arkansas
Andrew Drummond	Keith Nitta	Bill Topich
Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock	Univ. of Washington Bothell	Pulaski Academy
Jocelyn Evans	Janine Parry	Gary Wekkin
University of West Florida	University of Arkansas	University of Central Arkansas
Joseph Giammo	Tara Parsons	Sharon Wrobel
Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock	James Madison University	University of Memphis

4 | Sullivan

Arkansas Political Science Association

•		~ ~ ~ ~ ~	•
A cco	013±10	n Off	10040
A330	CIALIU	,,, ,,,,	11 613

President	Kevin Brennan		
	Ouachita Baptist University		
Vice President	Steven Breezeel		
	Harding University		
Secretary Treasurer	Mark Mullenbach		
•	University of Central Arkansas		
Past President	Kim Hoffman		
	University of Central Arkansas		

Executive Board Members and Terms

Daniel Egbe (Philander Smith College)	2013-2015
Carol Strong (UA-Monticello)	2013-2015
Andrew Dowdle (UA-Fayetteville)	2014-2016
Chris Housenick (Arkansas Tech)	2014-2016

Program Chair (2015): Kimberly Maslin (Hendrix University)

Subscription Information:

Subscription rates are \$25.00 for individuals and institutions. Subscriptions may be obtained by writing or e-mailing to:

Mark Mullenbach Department of Political Science 217 Irby Hall University of Central Arkansas Conway, Arkansas 72035 markm@uca.edu