The Midsouth Political Science Review Volume 19, 2018

Christie L. Maloyed and Mary Elizabeth Sullivan	1
"Coupling" Policy Agenda Research and Legislative Institutions: An Exploratory Analysis of State House Speaker Power and Punctuated-Equilibrium Matthew T. Gross	25
The Quietest Revolution: State Gender Pay Equity Proposals, 1990-2016 Catherine C. Reese and Donna M. Handley	51
Taking "Voluntariness" Seriously: Legal Challenges Impeding the Syrian Refugees' Right of Return Ozum Yesiltas	83

About the Contributors

- **Matthew T. Gross** is an Assistant Professor of Political Science at Henderson State University, where he teaches courses in American Politics. His research focuses on Congress and state legislatures. He received his PhD from the University of Tennessee in 2012.
- Donna M. Handley is an Assistant Professor of Public Administration in the Master of Public Administration (MPA) program at Arkansas State University. Her research has been published in *Public Administration Review*, the *Journal of Health and Human Services Administration*, and *Public Performance Management Review*, among others. Her research interests include nonprofit leadership and administration, nonprofit policy analysis, and best practices in online teaching and student assessment.
- Christie L. Maloyed is an Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. Her research focus is on religion and politics both in the history of political thought and contemporary American politics. In addition, she does work in the area of politics and literature.
- Catherine C. Reese is a Professor of Public Administration and Master of Public Administration (MPA) Director at Arkansas State University. Her research has been published in the *Review of Public Personnel Administration*, *Public Budgeting & Finance*, *Public Administration Review*, and *Politics and Policy*, among others. Her research interests include state-level public policy, gender pay equity, state tobacco settlement spending, state budgeting, public human resource administration, and state government finance. She is the recipient of the Arkansas State University Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Teaching.
- Mary Elizabeth Sullivan is an Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Central Arkansas. Her research interests include medieval political thought, transmission of classical texts in the Middle Ages and Renaissance, politics in literature, and medieval brewing practices. She received her PhD from Texas A&M University.
- Ozum Yesiltas is an Assistant Professor of Political Science at Texas A&M University-Commerce. Her teaching and research interests include human rights, nationalism and ethnic conflict, identity politics and conflict resolution with a focus on the Middle East. She received her PhD from Florida International University in 2014.

The Midsouth Political Science Review Editorial Board

Editor:

Joseph Y. Howard

University of Central Arkansas

Associate Editors:

Mary Beth Sullivan John Passé-Smith

University of Central Arkansas University of Central Arkansas

T. Clay Arnold	Donald Gooch	Tara Parsons
University of Central	Stephen F. Austin State Univ.	James Madison University
Arkansas	_	•
	Kim Hoffman	Doug Reed
Paul Babbitt	University of Central	Ouachita Baptist University
Southern Arkansas University	Arkansas	
		Catherine Reese
Jay Barth	Christina Hughes	Arkansas State University
Hendrix College	Univ. of Houston-Downtown	
		Gary Ritter
David Branham	Meagan Jordan	St. Louis University
Univ. of Houston-Downtown	Old Dominion University	
		Michael Rogers
Kevin Brennan	Brinck Kerr	Arkansas Tech University
Ouachita Baptist University	University of Arkansas	
		James Scott
Daniel Chand	Kiril Kolev	Texas Christian University
Kent State University	Hendrix College	
		William Schreckhise
Price Dooley	Jacek Lubecki	University of Arkansas
University of Memphis	Georgia Southern University	
		Tucker Staley
Andrew Dowdle	Heather Mbaye	Eastern Michigan University
University of Arkansas	University of West Georgia	
		Joshua Stockley
Andrew Drummond	Tom McInnis	Univ. of Louisiana at Monroe
Cal State Monterey Bay	University of Central	
	Arkansas	Carol Strong
Paul Foote		Univ. of Arkansas at
Murray State University	Mark Mullenbach	Monticello
	University of Central	
Joseph Giammo	Arkansas	Sharon Wrobel
Univ. of Arkansas at Little		University of Memphis
Rock	Keith Nitta	
	Univ. of Washington Bothell	Heather Yates
Rebecca Glazier	T . D	University of Central
Univ. of Arkansas at Little	Janine Parry	Arkansas
Rock	University of Arkansas	

Arkansas Political Science Association

Association	Off: agree
Association	Officers

President	Chris Housenick
	Arkansas Tech University
Vice President	Hans Hacker
	Arkansas State University
Secretary	Matt Evans
	Northwest Arkansas Community College
Treasurer	Michael Rogers
	Arkansas Tech University
Past President	Carol Strong
	University of Arkansas-Monticello

Executive Board Members and Terms

Matthew Gross (Henderson State University)	2017-2019
Lori Klein (Harding University)	. 2017-2019
John Davis (University of Arkansas-Monticello)	. 2018-2020
Williams Yamkam (University of Arkansas-Ft. Smith)	2018-2020

Program Co-Chairs (2018-2019): Andrew Dowdle and Karen Sebold (University of Arkansas-Fayetteville)

Subscription Information:

Subscription rates are \$30.00 for individuals and institutions. Subscriptions may be obtained by writing or e-mailing to:

Dr. Michael Rogers Arkansas Tech University Witherspoon Hall #257 407 West Q Street Russellville, Arkansas 72801 mrogers6@atu.edu