# The Midsouth Political Science Review Volume 20, 2019

The Limits of Morality: Exploring the Diffusion of Eugenics Policies across the US States  Brendan Toner, Tara Schmutzler, Briana Kordsmeier, and Joshua L. Mitchell
The Southern Voice: Political Consequences of a Regional Accent Jason A. Husser, Carrie P. Eaves, and Kenneth E. Fernandez
Does Management Capacity Increase Organizational Performance? An Empirical Analysis of Public Housing Agencies  John Topinka
Rise of Moderate Islamic Parties: Who Supports Them? Suveyda Karakaya8
Judicial Primary Elections: A Study of Texas High Courts Billy Monroe, Lee W. Payne, and Nathan Mitchell

#### **About the Contributors**

- **Carrie Eaves** is an Assistant Professor of Political Science and Policy Studies at Elon University. She researches American political institutions with a particular focus on congressional elections and the U.S. presidency. She completed a MPA and PhD in Political Science from the University of Georgia.
- Kenneth E. Fernandez teaches political science at the College of Southern Nevada. He is interested in public opinion research and survey methodology. His research has been published in a variety of journals, including the Journal of Race and Ethnic Politics, Survey Practice, Political Studies, Educational Policy, Journal of Political Science Education, European Journal of Marketing, Journal of the American Planning Association, International Journal of Economic Development, Journal of Happiness Studies, Prison Journal, and Columbia Human Rights Law Review. He received his PhD from the University of California, Riverside.
- **Jason Husser** is an Associate Professor of Political Science and Policy Studies at Elon University. He researches American political behavior, North Carolina politics and survey methodology. Prior to becoming Director of the Elon University Poll in 2016, he served as Assistant Director from 2012 to 2016. He completed a PhD in Political Science from Vanderbilt University.
- **Suveyda Karakaya** teaches political science at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. She has published articles in *Conflict Management and Peace Science, International Interactions, Democratization, and Politics & Religion*. She received a MA in Political Science from Kansas State University in 2009 and a PhD in Political Science from University of Tennessee in 2013.
- **Briana Kordsmeier** is currently a Public Policy PhD student at the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville. Her research focuses on the factors that form Americans' individual policy positions on equality-oriented policies (and LGBT and racial equality-oriented policies in particular), as well as how policymakers can consider these influences when drafting and implementing policy recommendations and legislation. She has published work in *Social Science Quarterly*.

- Joshua L. Mitchell is an Assistant Professor of Political Science at the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville. His research interests include policy diffusion and political geography. His research has appeared in *Policy Studies Journal, Local Government Studies, Politics & Policy, and Public Policy & Administration*.
- Nathan K. Mitchell is an Associate Professor of Political Science at Prairie View A&M University. His research and teaching interests focus on state politics and policy, improving political science education, and legal studies.
- **Billy Monroe** is an Associate Professor of Political Science at Prairie View A&M University. His research and teaching interests include judicial politics (focusing on judicial elections), constitutional law, American political institutions, and state politics. He received his PhD in Political Science from the University of Texas at Dallas in 2008.
- **Lee W. Payne** is an Associate Professor of Political Science at Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, Texas. His research and teaching interests include public opinion, media and politics, quantitative methods, and the US Congress.
- Tara Schmutzler is an Arkansas licensed attorney. She received her Juris Doctorate from University of Arkansas, School of Law. After graduation, she was an adjunct professor who designed new courses/curriculum that are still taught at the law school. She currently assists indigent clients in achieving stability for their families and their children through the legal system and nonprofit services in the area.
- **Brendan Toner** is an Assistant Professor of Political Science at Arkansas Tech University. His specializations are American government, public administration, and public law. His research has appeared in the journal *Politics and Religion*. He received his PhD in 2013 from Southern Illinois University.

## The Midsouth Political Science Review Editorial Board

Editor:

Joseph Y. Howard

Department of Political Science University of Central Arkansas

Conway, AR 72035

Associate Editors:

Mary Beth Sullivan

University of Central Arkansas

John Passé-Smith

University of Central Arkansas

T. Clay Arnold University of Central

Arkansas

Paul Babbitt Southern Arkansas

University

Jay Barth

Hendrix College

David Branham

Univ. of Houston-Downtown

Kevin Brennan Ouachita Baptist University

Daniel Chand Kent State University

Price Dooley Univ. of Illinois Springfield

Andrew Dowdle University of Arkansas

Andrew Drummond Cal State Monterey Bay

Paul Foote

Murray State University

Joseph Giammo

Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock

Rebecca Glazier Univ. of Arkansas at Little

Rock

Donald Gooch Stephen F. Austin State Univ.

Kim Hoffman University of Central

Arkansas

Christina Hughes

Univ. of Houston-Downtown

Meagan Jordan

Old Dominion University

Brinck Kerr

University of Arkansas

Kiril Kolev Hendrix College

Jacek Lubecki

Georgia Southern University

Heather Mbaye University of West Georgia

Tom McInnis University of Central Arkansas

Mark Mullenbach University of Central

Arkansas

Keith Nitta

Univ. of Washington Bothell

Janine Parry University of Arkansas Tara Parsons

James Madison University

Doug Reed

Ouachita Baptist University

Catherine Reese

Arkansas State University

Gary Ritter

St. Louis University

Michael Rogers

Arkansas Tech University

**James Scott** 

Texas Christian University

William Shreckhise University of Arkansas

Tucker Staley

Eastern Michigan University

Joshua Stockley

Univ. of Louisiana at Monroe

Carol Strong

Univ. of Arkansas at

Monticello

Sharon Wrobel University of Memphis

Heather Yates University of Central

Arkansas

### **Arkansas Political Science Association**

Association Officers
President
Arkansas State University
THINKING STATE STATE
Vice President
University of Arkansas-Fayetteville
C 4
Secretary Matt Evans
Northwest Arkansas Community College
TreasurerMichael Rogers
Arkansas Tech University
Past President
Arkansas Tech University
Executive Board Members and Terms
John Davis (University of Arkansas-Monticello)2018–2020
Williams Yamkam (University of Arkansas-Ft. Smith)2018–2020
Amber Overholser (Southern Arkansas University)2019–2021
Heather Yates (University of Central Arkansas)2019–2021

**Program Co-Chairs (2019–2020):** Matthew Gross (Henderson State University)

### **Subscription Information:**

Subscription rates are \$30.00 for individuals and institutions. Subscriptions may be obtained by writing or e-mailing to:

Dr. Michael Rogers Arkansas Tech University Witherspoon Hall #257 407 West Q Street Russellville, Arkansas 72801 mrogers6@atu.edu