Executive Board Meeting (February 26, 2010) – Minutes

* Meeting was called to order at 11:30am. Members of the Executive Board present - Janine Parry, Michael Rogers, Will McLean, Mark Mullenbach, Sharon Wrobel, Kim Hoffman, John Passe-Smith. Members of the Executive Board absent - Andrew Bagley and Haroon Khan.

* Motions to adopt the Agenda for the current meeting and the Minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

* Will McLean gave the Program Chair's report.

* Janine Parry gave the President's report.

* The report of the Secretary-Treasurer (*in absentia*) was received and discussed. Discussion was held concerning the association's need to incorporate as a non-profit organization in the state of Arkansas and to apply for tax-exempt status from the IRS. The Board voted to recommend that the Secretary-Treasurer pursue these objectives in 2010, and if necessary, liquidate the association's Vanguard investment account if it was inconsistent with IRS regulations.

* John Passe-Smith gave the MPSR report. Volume 10 (2009) was recently published. The volume contains six manuscripts, including two manuscripts submitted by out-of-state authors.

* Michael Rogers gave the Vice-President's report (Best Paper awards for 2009). It was decided to have an April 1st deadline for nominations for awards in 2010.

* Nominations – Michael Rogers (ATU) was nominated for president, Will McLean (ASU) for Vice-President, Mark Mullenbach (UCA) for Secretary-Treasurer, John Passe-Smith (UCA) for MPSR editor, Donald Gooch (ATU) for At-Large Member of the Executive Board, and Joe Giammo (UALR) for At-Large Member of the Executive Board. Nominations were seconded and approved unanimously.

* The Board voted to recommend the following locations for upcoming annual meetings: 2011 annual meeting (UALR-Little Rock), 2012 annual meeting (UCA-Conway), and 2013 annual meeting (OBU-Arkadelphia).

* The meeting was adjourned at 12:45pm.